Skip to content

Idaho Area Presidency Assignments

The administration of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is facilitated by geographic areas. In the United States and Canada, each area is overseen by a member of the Presidency of the Quorum of the Seventy who are based in Salt Lake City, Utah. Other areas are overseen by an area president and two counselors, who are usually members of the Quorums of the Seventy and live in their assigned areas.

Under the direction of the First Presidency and Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, area presidencies provide spiritual and administrative direction to the leaders and members of the Church in their areas.

There are currently 25 areas:

  • Utah North
  • Utah Salt Lake City
  • Utah South
  • North America Northeast
  • North America Southwest
  • North America Northwest
  • North America West
  • Idaho
  • North America Central
  • North America Southeast
  • Mexico
  • Central America
  • Caribbean
  • South America Northwest
  • Brazil
  • South America South
  • Middle East/North Africa
  • Europe
  • Europe East
  • Asia
  • Asia North
  • Africa West
  • Africa Southeast
  • Philippines
  • Pacific

To download a .pdf document showing area leadership assignments, click here.

The First Presidency has announced changes in the Church's area assignments effective Aug. 1. All members of area presidencies are members of the First or Second Quorums of the Seventy or are Area Seventies.

Members of the Presidency of the Seventy have responsibilities for the areas in North America.

The Church now has 16 areas outside North America and 10 areas inside North America for a total of 26.

Presidency of the Seventy

Ronald Rasband
Assists in all areas

Steven E. Snow
Utah North
Utah Salt Lake City
Utah South

Walter F. Gonzalez
North America Southeast

L. Whitney Clayton
North America Northwest
North America West

Jay E. Jensen
North America Northeast

Donald L. Halstrom
North America Central

Tad R. Callister
North America Southwest

Middle East/Africa North

Bruce D. Porter

Paul B. Pieper

Africa Southeast

Dale G. Renlund

Ulisses Soares
First counselor

Carl B. Cook
Second counselor

Africa West

John B. Dickson

Joseph W. Sitati
First counselor

LeGrand R. Curtis, Jr.
Second counselor


Anthony D. Perkins

Kent D. Watson
First counselor

Gerrit W. Gong
Second counselor

Asia North

Gary E. Stevenson

Michael T. Ringwood
First Counselor

Koichi Aoyagi
Second counselor


Claudio R. M. Costa

Carlos A. Godoy
First counselor

Jairo Mazzagardi
Second counselor


Francisco J. Vinas

Wilford W. Andersen
First counselor

J. Devn Cornish
Second counselor

Central America

Enrique R. Falabella

James B. Martino
First counselor

Carlos H. Amado
Second counselor


Lawrence E. Corbridge

Jorge F. Zeballos
First counselor

Kent F. Richards
Second counselor


Erich W. Kopischke

Gerald Causse
First counselor

José A. Teixeira
Second counselor

Europe East

Gregory A Schwitzer

Larry R. Lawrence
First counselor

Randall K. Bennett
Second counselor
Area Seventy


Daniel L. Johnson

Benjamin De Hoyos
First counselor

Octaviano Tenorio
Second counselor


James J. Hamula

Kevin W. Pearson
First counselor

F. Michael Watson
Second counselor


Michael John U. Teh

Brent H. Nielson
First counselor

Ian S. Ardern
Second counselor

South America Northwest

Rafael E. Pino

Juan A. Uceda
First counselor

W. Christopher Waddell
Second counselor

South America South

Mervyn B. Arnold

Marcos A. Aidukaitis
First counselor

Bradley D. Foster
Second counselor

Welden C. Andersen,

craig dimond,